Gemini Committees: Membership and Meeting Documents

Governance Committees

Advisory Committees

Committee Meeting Schedule


Governance Documents

The Gemini International Agreement for the operation of the Gemini Observatory, 2016–2021

Operational Guidelines: Observatory strategy during the 2016-2021 International Agreement.
For the years beyond 2021, the Observatory is currently developing both a Strategic Vision and a Strategic Plan. The charge to the Strategic Vision Committee was approved in Board resolution 2015.B.10.

Beyond 2021: A Strategic Vision for the Gemini Observatory

Historical Documents

Introductory material for Gemini Governance committee members

______________________________________________________________________________________

Committee Meeting Schedule

February 13-14, 2019 Operations Working Group Zoom  
April 23-24, 2019 Large and Long Program Time Allocation Committee Tucson, Arizona  
May 13-14, 2019 Science and Technology Advisory Committee Hilo, Hawaii Terry Lee 808-974-2524
May 16-17, 2019 Gemini Board Hilo, Hawaii Terry Lee 808-974-2524
May 21-22, 2019 NCOA Management Oversight Council Tucson, Arizona  
July 31 - August 1, 2019 Users' Committee Hilo, Hawaii Terry Lee 808-974-2524
August 1-2, 2019 Operations Working Group Hilo, Hawaii Terry Lee 808-974-2524
May 15, 2019 Gemini Finance Committee Hilo, Hawaii Terry Lee 808-974-2524
June 7, 2019 International Time Allocation Committee Zoom  
November 18-19, 2019 Science and Technology Advisory Committee La Serena, Chile Lucia Medina 56-51-2205-601
November 20-22, 2019 Gemini Board La Serena, Chile Lucia Medina 56-51-2205-601
May 6, 2020 Gemini Finance Committee Hilo, Hawaii Terry Lee 808-974-2524
May 11-12, 2020 Science and Technology Advisory Committee Hilo, Hawaii Terry Lee 808-974-2524
May 14-15, 2020 Gemini Board Hilo, Hawaii Terry Lee 808-974-2524
November 11-13, 2020 Gemini Board La Serena, Chile Lucia Medina 56-51-2205-601
* The Gemini contact person responsible for Gemini meeting logistics deals with coordinating local meeting room and office space, network support, local transport and support with accomodation and other related events.

 


Gemini Board

The Gemini Board sets budgetary policy bounds for the Observatory and carries out broad oversight functions as defined in the inter-agency Agreement. The Gemini Board has reserved the right to approve the appointments of the Gemini Director and Associate Directors for Gemini North and South.

Meetings (Password Protected)

Support

Board Members

Dr. Todd Boroson (Chair)
Las Cumbres Observatory (retired)
Phone: 805-259-6006 | Email: tyb.astro@gmail.com

Ms. Elizabeth Pentecost (Executive Secretary)
Division of Astronomical Sciences, National Science Foundation
Phone: 703-292-4907 | Email: epenteco@nsf.gov

Dr. Guillermo Bosch
Universidad Nacional de La Plata, Facultad de Ciencias Astronomicas y Geofisicas
Phone: 54-2214236593 | Email: guille@fcaglp.unlp.edu.ar

Dr. Luis Chavarria
CONICYT
Phone: 56-2-2365-4423 | Email: lchavarria@conicyt.cl

Dr. Christopher Davis
National Science Foudation, Division of Astronomical Sciences
Phone: 703-292-4910 | Email: chrdavis@nsf.gov

Dr. Marcos Perez Diaz
Instituto de Astronomia Geofísica e Ciências Atmosféricas - Universidade de São Paulo
Phone: 55-11-30912720 | Email: marcos.diaz@iag.usp.br

Dr. Dawn Erb
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Department of Physics
Phone: 414-229-3654 | Email: erbd@uwm.edu

Dr. Cynthia Froning
University of Texas at Austin, Department of Astronomy
Phone: 512-471-3465 | Email: cfroning@astro.as.utexas.edu

Dr. Narae Hwang
Center for Large Telescopes (CfLAT), Korea Astronomy & Space Science Institute (KASI)
Phone: 82-42-869-5822 | Email: nhwang@kasi.re.kr

Dr. Suvrath Mahadevan
Pennsylvania State University, Department of Astronomy & Astrophysics
Phone: 814-865-0261 | Email: suvrath@astro.psu.edu

Dr. Karen O’Neil
Green Bank Observatory/NRAO
Phone: 304-456-2130 | Email: koneil@nrao.edu

Dr. Bo Reipurth 
University of Hawai`i, Institute for Astronomy
Phone: 808-956-2314 | Email: reipurth@ifa.hawaii.edu

Dr. Greg Rudnick
Kansas University, Department of Physics and Astronomy
Phone: 785-864-4099 | Email: grudnick@ku.edu

Dr. Marcin Sawicki
Saint Mary’s University, Department of Astronomy and Physics
Phone: 902-496-8218 | Email: marcin.sawicki@smu.ca

Dr. Luc Simard
National Research Council Canada 

Phone: 250-217-8973 | Email: Luc.Simard@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca


Gemini Finance Committee

The Gemini Finance Committee is comprised of financial authorities from the various partner countries. The GFC advises the Gemini Board on financial, budget and long range plan issues for the Gemini Observatory.

Gemini Finance Committee Terms of Reference

*Meetings & Reports (*password required)

Dr. Chris Davis (Chair)
Division of Astronomical Sciences, National Science Foundation
Phone: (703) 292-4910 | E-mail: chrdavis@nsf.gov

Ms. Elizabeth Pentecost (ex-officio)
Division of Astronomical Sciences, National Science Foundation
Phone: 703-292-4907 | Email: epenteco@nsf.gov

Dr. Guillermo Bosch
Universidad Nacional de La Plata, Facultad de Ciencias Astronomicas y Geofisicas
Phone: 54-2214236593 | Email: guille@fcaglp.unlp.edu.ar

Dr. Bruno Castilho
Laboratorio Nacional de Astrofísica
Phone: 55-35-3629-8123 | Email: bruno@lna.br

Dr. Narae Hwang
Center for Large Telescopes (CfLAT), Korea Astronomy & Space Science Institute (KASI)
Phone: 82-42-869-5822 | Email: nhwang@kasi.re.kr

Dr. Luc Simard
National Research Council Canada
Phone: 250-363-8315 | Email: Luc.Simard@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca


Gemini Science and Technology Advisory Committee

The Science and Technology Advisory Committee advises the Gemini Board on policy matters of long-range scientific and technical importance.

Terms of reference and related documents

For related information prior to November 2011, please see the Gemini Science Committee meeting reports and documents.

STAC Points of Contact:

  • ALTAIR & Gemini North AO: Eric Steinbring 
  • F2: Marsha Wolf
  • GeMS: Eric Steinbring
  • GHOST: Inese Ivans
  • GMOS: Marcelo Mora
  • GNIRS: Marsha Wolf
  • GRACES: Fabio Bresolin
  • GPI: Andy Skemer
  • Instrument Upgrade Program: Guillermo Bosch
  • ToOs: Craig Heinke
  • SCORPIO: Tom Barnes (until May 2019) Ryan Foley (from May 2019)
  • Visiting Instruments: Elliott Horch
  • IGRINS2: Andy Skemer
  • Default for other issues: Chair 

Meetings (Password Protected)

Dr. Elliott Horch (Chair)
Southern Connecticut State University
Phone: 203-392-6393 | Email: ​horche2@southernct.edu

Dr. Jane Charlton
Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Penn State
Phone: 814-863-6040 | Email: jcc12@psu.edu

Dr. Mark Chun
Institute for Astronomy, University of Hawaii
Phone: 808-932-2317 | Email: markchun@hawaii.edu 

Dr. Ryan J. Foley
University of California Santa Cruz
Phone: 831 459 2835| Email: foley@ucsc.edu

Dr. Craig Heinke
University of Alberta
Phone: 780-222-4815 | Email: heinke@ualberta.ca

Dr. Robert Hynes
Louisiana State University
Phone: 225-578-7459 | Email: rih@phys.lsu.edu

Dr. Jeyhan Kartaltepe
Rochester Institute of Technology
Phone: 585-475-7514 | Email: jsksps@rit.edu

Dr. Jae-Joon Lee
Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute
Phone: 82-42-865-2073 | Email: leejjoon@kasi.re.kr

Dr. Damián Mast
Astronomical Observatory of Córdoba
Phone: 54-351-4331064/5 int 110 | Email: damian@oac.unc.edu.ar

Dr. Marcelo Mora
CONICYT / Instituto de Astrofísica, P. Universidad Católica
Phone: 56 2 2365 46 31| Email: mmora@astro.puc.cl

Dr. Henri Plana
Universidade Estadual de Santa Cruz
Phone: +55 73 3680 5167| Email:plana@uesc.br 

Dr. Lisa Poyneer
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Phone: 925-423-3360 | Email: poyneer1@llnl.gov

Dr. Eric Steinbring
The Herzberg Institute of Astrophysics, National Research Council Canada
Phone: 250-363-3452 | Email: eric.steinbring@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Dr. Marsha Wolf
Department of Astronomy, University of Wisconsin–Madison
Phone: 608-890-3291 | Email: mwolf@astro.wisc.edu

______________________________________________________________________________________

NSF Program Officer

Dr. Chris Davis
National Science Foundation, Gemini Program Officer
Phone: (703) 292-4910 | E-mail: chrdavis@nsf.gov


NCOA Management Oversight Council

The NMOC provides stewardship and management oversight of NOAO, Gemini and LSST operations and oversight of the NCOA Transition project. The NMOC replaced the AURA Oversight Council-Gemini in the fall of 2018.

Charter and membership list


Operations Working Group

The OWG advises the Gemini Director on the use and scheduling of the Gemini Telescopes, and on matters related to the support of users and to the interface between the national communities and the Observatory.

Meetings

As of February 2011, Operations Working Group meetings and agendas may be found on the OpsWiki.

Resolutions/Reports

As of February 2010, only resolutions/recommendations will be posted.

Dr. Joanna Thomas-Osip (Chair)
Gemini Observatory
Phone: 56-51-2205687 | Email: jthomas@gemini.edu

Dr. Gabriel Ferrero
Instituto de Astrofísica La Plata (CONICET-UNLP)
Phone: 54-221-4236593 | Email: gferrero@fcaglp.unlp.edu.ar

Dr. Edgardo Costa
Programa de Astronomía - Chile
Comisión Nacional de Investigación Científica y Tecnológica de Chile (CONICYT)
Phone: +56 2 229 41 01 | Email: costa@das.uchile.cl

Dr. Stéphanie Côté - Canada
National Research Council of Canada
Phone: 250-363-0026 | Email: Stephanie.Cote@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Dr. Jacqueline Keane - United States
Institute for Astronomy, University of Hawaii
Phone: (808) 956-6880 | Email:jvkeane@hawaii.edu

Dr. Eder Martioli - Brazil
Laboratório Nacional de Astrofísica
Phone: (+55)-35-3629-8220 | Email: brgo-head@lna.br

Dr. Letizia Stanghellini - United States
National Optical Astronomy Observatory
Phone: 502-318-8205 | Email: letizia@noao.edu


Users' Committee for Gemini Observatory (UCG)

To provide feedback to the Gemini Observatory on all areas of its operations that affect current users of the facility, based on the experience of the committee members as well as input collected from the larger community of Gemini users. The Observatory will use this information to improve the service it provides to users.

Charter

Meetings (password required)

Karen Meech (UH), (Chair)
University of Hawaii, Institute for Astronomy
meech@ifa.hawai.edu

Matthew Bayliss (US)
University of Cincinnati 
matthew.bayliss@uc.edu

Mark Brodwin (US)
University of Missouri, Kansas City 
brodwinm@umkc.edu

Dr. Scott Chapman (CA)
Dalhousie University
Phone: 902-494-2340 | scott.chapman@dal.ca

Thiago Signori Gonçalves (BR)
Observatorio do Valongo, UFRJ
tsg@astro.ufrj.br

J. J. Kavelaars (CA)
University of Victoria
jjk@uvic.ca

Maria Celeste Parisi (AR)
Observatorio Astronomico de Cordoba, Universidad Nacional de Cordoba
celeste@oac.unc.edu.ar

Vinicius Placco (US)
University of Notre Dame
vplacco@nd.edu

Thomas Puzia (CL)
Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile
tpuzia@astro.puc.cl

Jonelle Walsh
Texas A&M University
walsh@physics.tamu.edu

Letizia Stanghellini (ex-officio)
US NGO
lstanghellini@noao.edu

Joanna Thomas-Osip (Gemini Coordinator)
jthomas@gemini.edu


International Time Allocation Committee

The International Time Allocation Committee consists of representatives from the national time allocation committees, as well as the Observatory itself. The ITAC is chaired by a Gemini senior-level scientist. The recommendations of the ITAC are advisory to the Gemini Director. The ITAC meets twice a year to consider joint and conflicting proposals identified in the merging process, and to recommend the programs for execution in queue and classical modes.

Dr. Marie Lemoine-Busserolle (Chair)
Gemini Observatory
Phone: 808-974-2601 | Email: mbussero@gemini.edu

Ms. Jennifer Miller (Technical Secretary)
Gemini Observatory
Phone: 808-974-2578 | Email: jmiller@gemini.edu

Dr. Alberto Rodriguez Ardia
Laboratório Nacional de Astrofísica
Phone: 55-35-3629 8119 | Email: aardila@lna.br

Dr. Edgardo Costa
Programa de Astronomía - CONICYT
Phone: 56-2-229-4101 | Email: costa@das.uchile.cl

Dr. Stéphanie Côté
National Research Council of Canada
Phone: 250-363-0026 | Email: Stephanie.Cote@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Dr. Juan Luna
IAFE (CONICET-UBA)
gjmluna@iafe.uba.ar

Dr. Verne Smith
CSDC - NSF’s OIR Lab
Phone: 520-318-8453 | Email: vsmith@email.noao.edu

Dr. Richard Wainscoat
University of Hawai`i, Institute for Astronomy
Phone: 808-956-8429 | Email: rjw@ifa.hawaii.edu

Dr. Soung-Chul Yang
Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute
Phone: 82-42-869-5828 | Email: sczoo@kasi.re.kr

______________________________________________________________________________________

Large Programs Time Allocation Committee

The Large and Long Program Time Allocation Committee (LPTAC) is responsible for the scientific assessment and ranking of Gemini Large and Long Program (LLP) proposals.  The LPTAC consists of representatives from LLP participating partners, currently the United States, Canada, and Argentina, plus ad-hoc members as may be required for additional scientific expertise.  The LPTAC meets once per year, typically in Late April.  

Verne Smith (Chair)
National Optical Astronomy Observatory
vsmith@noao.edu

​Daniel Apai
University of Arizona, Lunar and Planetary Laboratory
​apaidaniel@gmail.com

Jane Charlton
Penn State, Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics
jcc12@psu.edu

Andrew Cumming
McGill University, Department of Physics
​andrew.cumming@mcgill.ca

​Beatrice Mueller​​
Planetary Science Institute
​mueller@psi.edu

Armin Rest
Space Telescope Science Institute
​arest@stsci.edu

Eric Steinbring
The Herzberg Institute of Astrophysics, National Research Council Canada
eric.steinbring@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

​Angelle Tanner 
Mississippi State University, Department of Physics and Astronomy
​angelle.tanner@gmail.com


Gemini Observatory Participants

Sitemap | Website Chilean Mirror